Wednesday, March 14, 2012

The Trail of the Octopus - 1919 (Chapter 1 - The Devils Trade-Mark)

Country: United States
Language: English
Director: Duke Worne
Writer: J. Grubb Alexander (story)
Stars: Ben F. Wilson, Neva Gerber and William Dyer
Release Date: 19 October 1919 (USA)
Production Co: Hallmark Pictures Corporation
Runtime: USA: 300 min (15 episodes)
Sound Mix: Silent
Color: Black and White
Plot Keywords: Animal In Title | Serial
Taglines: The Serial of a Thousand Thrills
Genres: Mystery | Thriller | Action
Carter Holmes, master criminologist, must help the oft-kidnapped Ruth Stanhope to find the 9 daggers that will unlock the secret of the cursed Devil's Trademark!
Episode 9 has been lost.
The only known film print is a 35mm print in the Library Of Congress, which unfortunately is missing Chapter 9. The LOC has screened this at their Mary Pickford Theater in Washington, DC. They show it split over two nights - 140 minutes per night. The total running time would be 300 minutes if Chapter 9 were included.
The titles of the 15 chapters are: 1. The Devils Trade-Mark 2. Purple Dagger 3. Face to Face 4. The Hand of Wang 5. The Eye of Satan 6. Behind the Mask 7. The Dance of Death 8. Satans Soulmate 9. The Chained Soul 10. The Ape Man 11. The Red Death 12. The Poisoned Talon 13. The Phantom Mandarin 14. The House of Shadows 15. The Yellow Octopus
It is first stated that the secret symbols are tattooed onto Prof. Stanhope's right arm, but after he is knocked-out for surgery, the symbols are on his left arm.  

No comments:

Post a Comment