Thursday, March 17, 2011

Tagebuch Einer Verlorenen (1929, Germany)

Diary of a Lost Girl (German: Tagebuch einer Verlorenen) is a 1929 silent film directed by Georg Wilhelm Pabst. It is shot in black and white, and various versions of the film range from 79 minutes to 116 minutes in length. This was Brooks's second and last film with Pabst, and like their prior collaboration (1928's Pandora's Box), it is considered a classic film. The film was based on the controversial and bestselling novel of the same name, Tagebuch einer Verlorenen (1905) by Margarete Böhme. A previous version of the novel, directed in 1918 by Richard Oswald, is now considered a lost film.
Director: Georg Wilhelm Pabst
Writers: Margarete Böhme (novel), Rudolf Leonhardt
Stars: Louise Brooks, Josef Rovenský and Fritz Rasp

No comments:

Post a Comment